From Doer to Thinker~The Happiness Dare

“The art of being happy lies in the power of extracting happiness from common things.”

Henry Ward Beecher (quote found on page 175)

IMG_2601

We are smack in the middle of the dog days of summer in these parts. Stepping outside can leave one puddled on sizzling ground. By mid~morning blinds are drawn shut, warding off sweltering heat. I am missing open windows, outside sounds, and gentle breezes sweeping over me.

It’s become a haven of sorts. Stillness and quiet lead me to still waters, a place of refreshing. A place of contemplation and thinking. I am a thinker. A ponderer, sitting for hours, giving space to thoughts and wondering awe.

I’ve been working my way through The Happiness Dare by Jennifer Dukes Lee. I don’t personally know Jennifer, though I feel I have come to know her through the words she pens.

I was drawn in by her latest book, the importance of finding your happiness style. Letting go of thoughts that my own happiness style has to look like someone else’s. There’s freedom in that, especially as women bent to compare ourselves to others and find we come up lacking. Or so we thought. “Comparison robs us of our happiness.” ~JDL 

I know that to be true, having been there myself many times over.

The importance of finding your own happiness style, begins with learning the five styles of this oft illusive state.

The Doer. The Relater. The Experiencer. The Giver. The Thinker.

You may find a bit of yourself in each of these. As learned the ways, the pitfalls, of each style, I knew precisely where I landed.

I spent most of my life being a doer, busily moving from one thing to the next. Making and checking off to do lists, wearing myself out. Often resenting others who seemingly languished in life while I did all the work. Sound familiar?

As I journeyed through the book, walking down memory lane, I saw how God moved me from a doer to a thinker using the onslaught of chronic illness. Showing me new ways, showing me how to find happiness in this place.

I am a better version of myself today. A better version of what God created me for. I appreciated learning the pitfalls of a thinker, most I have landed in at some time or another.

“Your inquisitive, wandering, wild mind doesn’t make you weird; it makes you wonderful.” ~JDL

I would love to reach across the table, take your sweet face in my hands, urge you to read this book; The Happiness Dare. Urge you to identify your sweet place of happiness along with the pitfalls we can fall in. I would urge you to take The Happiness Style Assessment

“Here’s the good news. If you want to be happier, you can stop wishing for someone else’s life and discover happiness in the one you have.”

“Happiness isn’t unholy, it’s just misunderstood.”

~Jennifer Dukes Lee~

Pre~order The Happiness Dare by Jennifer Dukes Lee today! Discover your own your happiness style!

Gifts of Grace

Tammy Mashburn

IMG_2453

image

12 thoughts on “From Doer to Thinker~The Happiness Dare

  1. I like how you shared that God moved you from a doer to a thinker through your chronic illness. That is me too.
    I’ll need to add this book to my long list of books to read!

  2. Needed this today. Seems like i take one step forward and the next day i go backwards two.
    Love the encouragement you can give. Keep up good work.Love you so much. Very proud
    of all you do.

    Love you,

    Mom

  3. What a beautiful post, Tammy! Jennifer’s book has blessed me too. Something about realizing what kind of happiness style one embodies does indeed free one to live ones life fully, doesn’t it? I am a giver with relater being not far behind.

  4. Beautiful review, Tammy. Love seeing how God has led you and poured more happiness into you. You’ve picked some great quotes too. It’s been quite the journey this book, hasn’t it?!

  5. That’s how God works through our storm/chronic pain/struggles. As a result, I thus have authored and published 7 books thus far.

    God is with us especially when we are at our lowest.

    Much Love, Light and Blessings, Emma

Leave a Reply

